Norristown Area School District

The Norristown Area School District is quite unique. We are comprised of three communities: the East Norriton Township, the West Norriton Township, and the municipality of Norristown. Together, the three communities contain approximately 60,000 residents.

In the Norristown Area School District there are approximately 1,000 employees. Of the district employees, 600 are teachers. Our student body is comprised of approximately 6,800 students in grades Kindergarten through 12. There are a total of 11 schools: six elementary, three middle, one comprehensive high school, and a much smaller high school that provides alternative programs for students. In addition, the Norristown Area High School partners with the Colonial and Upper Merion school districts to operate the Central Montco Technical High School.

District Features & Affiliations

Our district is located in historically rich Montgomery County, with easy access to cultural and athletic events. Nearby there are more than two dozen historic sites, including the renowned Valley Forge National Park and, locally, the Elmwood Park Zoo.

The Norristown Area School District has a number of partnerships with organizations and corporations, including Merck Pharmaceutical Company, Lockheed Martin, University of Pennsylvania, Cabrini College, Gwynedd Mercy College, and Montgomery County Community College.